The short answer
Tesla Premium Connectivity is “a monthly subscription of $9.99 plus applicable tax” or “an annual subscription of $99 plus applicable tax,” on Tesla’s US support page as read on October 11, 2026. Without it, the car keeps what Tesla calls Standard Connectivity: navigation with traffic-based routing, Trip Planner, Supercharger stall availability and over-the-air software updates.
What you lose is mostly what happens over the car’s own cellular link: the live Sentry Mode camera and the dashcam viewer in the phone app, satellite-view and live-traffic maps, and streaming music and video away from Wi-Fi.
- Pay for it if you want to look through the car’s cameras from your phone, wherever it is parked. Tesla’s feature table gives the live camera no Wi-Fi alternative, and the Model 3 manual says the live view requires it.
- Skip it if what you want is music or video while parked or charging. Tesla’s table marks both as available over Wi-Fi without Premium, and its hotspot answer names video and the browser.
- Pay by the year if you will keep it ten months or longer. Ten monthly payments come to $99.90.
Everything below is from Tesla’s Connectivity support page, the owner’s manual for the 2024-and-later Model 3 (North America, software 2026.32) and Tesla’s Full Self-Driving support page, apart from one outlet report on the Luxe Package that is flagged where it appears. Prices are US prices, and other models’ manuals may differ from the Model 3’s. Tesla notes that “Features are subject to change and may vary based on hardware configuration.”
What do you lose without Tesla Premium Connectivity?
This is Tesla’s own feature table, with one column added for what its footnotes say about Wi-Fi.
| Feature, in Tesla’s wording | Standard | Premium | Over Wi-Fi or a hotspot without Premium |
|---|---|---|---|
| Navigation With Real-Time Traffic Along the Route | Yes | Yes | Included either way |
| Grok | No | Yes | No Wi-Fi note in the table; the manual says “Grok requires Premium Connectivity or a Wi-Fi connection” |
| Satellite-View Maps | No | Yes | No Wi-Fi note |
| Weather Forecast and Precipitation Maps | No | Yes | No Wi-Fi note |
| Speed Cameras | No | Yes | No Wi-Fi note |
| Live Traffic Maps | No | Yes | No Wi-Fi note |
| Sentry Mode - View Live Camera | No | Yes | No Wi-Fi note |
| Mobile App Dashcam Viewer | No | Yes | No Wi-Fi note |
| Pet Mode - View Live Cabin Camera | No | Yes | No Wi-Fi note |
| Music Streaming | No | Yes | Yes: “currently available over Wi-Fi for Standard Connectivity” |
| Video Streaming | No | Yes | Yes, same footnote |
| Caraoke | No | Yes | No Wi-Fi note |
| Internet Browser | No | Yes | Yes, same footnote |
Two things in that table deserve a second look. The Grok row is one place Tesla’s two documents differ: the support page ticks it for Premium only, with no Wi-Fi footnote, while the Model 3 manual says the assistant works on “Premium Connectivity or a Wi-Fi connection.” And the top row is the reason a car without Premium still finds its way: Tesla says Standard cars “will continue to receive the same core maps and navigation functionality as vehicles with Premium Connectivity, including traffic-based routing, Trip Planner and Supercharger stall availability,” and that “Premium Connectivity will add satellite-view maps and live traffic visualization.”
The Model 3 manual draws the navigation line a little differently. It says “realtime traffic condition icons display along navigation routes when detected (Premium Connectivity required),” and lists “Display 3D maps (if equipped with premium connectivity).” Both documents can be true at once, with traffic-based routing on every car and some of the traffic and map display reserved for Premium, but Tesla does not spell that out.
Software updates do not depend on it either. Tesla: “All vehicles have access to over-the-air software updates.” For audio, Standard still offers “Bluetooth® pairing, FM radio, Sirius XM capability in North America (for XM-enabled and configured vehicles) and playback from a USB drive.”
How much is Tesla Premium Connectivity per month?
$9.99 a month or $99 a year, each plus tax, and Tesla’s page says it “can be purchased at any time from your vehicle’s touchscreen or the Tesla app.”
| If you keep it for | Paying monthly at $9.99 | Paying annually at $99 | Annual saves |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 year | $119.88 | $99 | $20.88 |
| 4 years | $479.52 | $396 | $83.52 |
| 8 years | $959.04 | $792 | $167.04 |
Those totals are before tax and assume the October 2026 prices hold. The crossover is the tenth month: nine monthly payments are $89.91 and ten are $99.90, so the annual plan wins only if you would have kept it that long. For one road trip, a single month at $9.99 is the cheaper way in.
Know the exit terms before you pick. Tesla says you can cancel in the app at any time, but “annual or monthly subscription payments will not be prorated,” and “You cannot receive a partial or full refund for your Premium Connectivity subscription.” After cancelling you keep the features “for the remainder of the current billing period.” An annual plan cancelled in month two is still $99 spent.
Does Tesla Premium Connectivity work with a phone hotspot or Wi-Fi?
Partly. Tesla’s answer to the hotspot question: “Some features that are available with Standard Connectivity over Wi-Fi, such as video streaming and the internet browser, may also be accessed over mobile hotspots, subject to fees and restrictions of your mobile carrier.” The manual describes the same setup from the driver’s seat: “Instead of a Wi-Fi network, you can also use a mobile hotspot (subject to fees and restrictions of your carrier). After connecting to your hotspot, select Remain Connected in Drive, if you want to keep the connection active while you are driving.”
Tesla’s answer names video streaming and the browser. Music carries the same Wi-Fi footnote in the table, though Tesla does not name it for hotspots. For the other rows the support page gives no Wi-Fi note, and it also says “With Standard Connectivity, you have access to most connectivity features over Wi-Fi,” without listing which. The Model 3 manual settles some of them: “Caraoke requires premium connectivity,” satellite imagery is listed “(if equipped with premium connectivity),” the live camera requires Premium, and Grok works on “Premium Connectivity or a Wi-Fi connection.” Public Wi-Fi is not a substitute if it has a sign-in page. The manual says the Model 3 “does not currently support connections to captive Wi-Fi networks.”
The reverse does not appear in either document: nothing in Tesla’s feature table or in the manual’s Wi-Fi section says the car shares its own connection with your phone or laptop. The manual describes the car joining a hotspot, not providing one.
Do you need Premium Connectivity for Sentry Mode?
Not for Sentry Mode itself, going by the Model 3 manual; other models’ manuals were not read for this page. You need it to watch from your phone.
The manual’s note is direct: “View Live Camera requires premium connectivity and version 4.2.1 (or newer) of the Tesla mobile app installed on a phone that has been paired as a key to Model 3.” The same goes for watching recorded clips in the app: the manual’s Dashcam Viewer step carries the note “Requires Premium Connectivity.”
Even with Premium the live view is rationed. The manual says “View Live Camera is limited to approximately one hour (or 15 minutes for some regions) of cumulative usage per day.”
Nothing in the manual’s Sentry Mode section ties recording to Premium: the car “Saves footage of the event to a USB drive (if installed).” With no drive plugged in, the manual says, “your vehicle alerts you through the mobile app, without any camera recordings.” Recorded clips can be opened on a computer from the drive’s TeslaCam folder. The dashcam USB drive guide covers which drive to use and why clips go missing, and the Low Power Mode page covers what Sentry Mode costs in battery.
Is Tesla Premium Connectivity free, and how long is the trial?
It depends on when the car was ordered or changed hands, and Tesla’s page gives dates for most cases. CPO below stands for Certified Pre-Owned, a used car bought from Tesla.
| Your car | Standard Connectivity | Premium Connectivity |
|---|---|---|
| New, ordered on or before July 20, 2022 | “at no cost for the lifetime of the vehicle” | Not tied to this date: free Premium “may vary based on your Tesla vehicle and your order date”; check the app |
| New, ordered after that date | “for eight years beginning on the first day your vehicle was delivered as new by Tesla” or first put into service, whichever comes first | A trial at delivery on eligible orders (eligibility “may vary”), then a subscription |
| CPO, bought from Tesla before January 9, 2020 | Not stated separately | Free for life if the car was eligible, and it “will be active for future owners if sold privately” |
| CPO, bought January 9, 2020 to July 20, 2022 | Free for life | Not stated; a subscription by implication of the last row |
| CPO, bought after July 20, 2022 | “for the remainder of the eight years” | Not stated; a subscription by implication of the last row |
| Private or third-party sale, transferred on or before January 20, 2020 | Free for life | Free for life if the car was eligible |
| Private or third-party sale, transferred on or after January 21, 2020 | Free for life if transferred on or before July 20, 2022; after that, the rest of the eight years unless the car already has lifetime Standard | “a 30-day trial of Premium Connectivity before being eligible for subscription,” unless the car has lifetime Premium or an active trial |
| Any car Tesla owned between its first sale and its resale | Not stated separately | It “will not include Premium Connectivity for the lifetime of the vehicle regardless of the vehicle’s purchase or production date” |
The lifetime rows carry Tesla’s standing exception: they exclude “retrofits or upgrades required for any features or services externally supplied to the vehicle,” with the telecommunications network as its example. Tesla’s page does not reconcile the third row with the last one, since a Certified Pre-Owned car is one Tesla owned between sales. If your car is in that position, the app check below is the answer that counts.
One gap in Tesla’s page matters here. Two of the used-car rules apply to vehicles “eligible for Premium Connectivity according to the above mentioned table,” and the page, as read on October 11, 2026, shows no such table. It does not print which original orders came with free Premium. The check it gives instead is in the Tesla app: tap Upgrades, then Manage, and an eligible car shows “Free Premium Connectivity” under the Active tab. If you are buying a used Tesla on the strength of free connectivity, this page’s suggestion is to ask the seller for that screen, with two cautions: Tesla’s page does not promise the status survives a private sale today, and it says the status is gone for good once a car passes back through Tesla.
On the trial, Tesla’s page says two things. Near the top: “Orders of Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y and Cybertruck vehicles will receive a Premium Connectivity trial at delivery.” In the questions further down: “Based on your Tesla vehicle model, trim, model year and order date, your Premium Connectivity trial eligibility may vary.” It gives no length for a new-car trial. The only trial length on the page is the 30 days for a privately bought used car, and that trial “will commence on the date ownership transfers and requires the buyer to claim ownership of their vehicle in the Tesla app,” and “cannot be postponed or rescheduled.” For a new order, Tesla points to the order page: “select ‘Show Pricing Details’ to see if you will receive a Premium Connectivity trial, beginning on the day of delivery.” Trial lengths by model are on Tesla’s current offers, which the interest and referrals guide tracks. Tesla says it emails “in the week before your trial expires.” The delivery checklist covers the rest of what to confirm when you collect the car.
One reported bundle sits at the top of the range. Not a Tesla App wrote on August 16, 2025 that the Luxe Package on new Model S and Model X cars included it: “Tesla’s Premium Connectivity package, normally priced at $99/year, is now included.” That is the outlet’s 2025 report, not Tesla’s page, and no Tesla page read for this article confirms it, so check your own order.
What happens when Standard Connectivity runs out?
For cars on the eight-year clock, Tesla says: “Without Standard Connectivity, access to some connectivity features, including those that use cellular data or third-party licenses, may be changed or removed. These Standard Connectivity features that may change currently include maps, navigation, voice commands and more.”
Which cars are on that clock, and when it ends, depends on how the car reached you. For a car ordered new after July 20, 2022, the eight years run from delivery or from the day the car was first put into service, whichever comes first, so by this page’s count the earliest of those reach the limit in the second half of 2030. A used car bought from Tesla after July 20, 2022, or one bought privately and transferred after that date without lifetime Standard, counts from the car’s original delivery, so an older car can already be at or past eight years.
On updates, Tesla’s page says “Important safety updates will continue to be available over the vehicle’s cellular connection.” It says so under its Full Self-Driving question, not in its answer about expired Standard Connectivity.
Is Tesla Premium Connectivity transferable?
Not to another car: “Your Premium Connectivity subscription cannot be transferred to another vehicle.” And a paid subscription does not go with the car to its next owner: “Once you sell your vehicle and transfer ownership, and it is removed from your Tesla Account, any associated Premium Connectivity subscription will be automatically canceled.” Free lifetime Premium is the kind Tesla’s page describes as following a car, and only in the dated cases in the table above.
Is Tesla Premium Connectivity required for FSD?
No. FSD is Full Self-Driving (Supervised), Tesla’s driver-assistance subscription. Tesla’s connectivity page says: “Your Premium Connectivity subscription will not affect how Full Self-Driving (Supervised) works.” Outside the reported Luxe Package, the two are separate subscriptions. Tesla’s FSD page prices that subscription at “$99 USD per month” and does not mention connectivity anywhere.
Does Tesla Premium Connectivity use Starlink, and is the data unlimited?
Tesla’s page describes a cellular service and names no satellite provider. Its answer to who runs the network: “Your connectivity network is provided by your local telecommunications company and Tesla is not responsible for the connectivity quality or coverage.” Starlink does not appear on the page. If a portable satellite dish is what you had in mind for travel, the Starlink Mini guide covers what that costs.
The page does not promise unlimited data. It says: “In some cases where data usage is deemed as excessive and exceeds a fair daily usage, we reserve the right to reduce connectivity bandwidth.” It publishes no figure for what counts as excessive.
Does Tesla Premium Connectivity include Netflix or Spotify?
No streaming subscription is named on Tesla’s page, and it says you bring your own: “A paid subscription to third-party streaming services is required to access music and media streaming for both Standard and Premium Connectivity.”
A bundled music account used to come with Premium, and Tesla’s page dates its end. “If you took delivery of your vehicle on or after October 1, 2024, a streaming music account is not included in your Premium Connectivity subscription,” and for earlier deliveries the account stopped being included “starting December 1, 2024.” Tesla adds that one “will still be included with Premium Connectivity for certain Tesla vehicles,” without saying which.
Frequently asked questions
Do you need Tesla Premium Connectivity?
Not to drive, navigate or update the car, though the Model 3 manual reserves some traffic and map display for Premium. Tesla lists navigation with real-time traffic along the route under Standard Connectivity, and says all vehicles get over-the-air updates. You need it for the phone app’s live camera and dashcam viewer, satellite and live-traffic maps, and streaming without Wi-Fi.
Can Tesla Premium Connectivity be paid annually?
Yes, at $99 plus tax, and you can switch between plans in the Tesla app under Upgrades, then Manage, then Premium Connectivity.
How do you cancel Tesla Premium Connectivity?
In the Tesla app: Upgrades, then Manage, find Premium Connectivity, tap Manage, then Cancel Subscription. Payments are not prorated or refunded, and the features run to the end of the billing period.
How do you check whether your Tesla has Premium Connectivity?
On the touchscreen, tap Controls, then Software, and see whether Premium Connectivity is listed. In the app, it appears under Upgrades, then Manage, with an Active status.
Does Tesla Premium Connectivity work in Canada?
Tesla’s US page says subscriptions are “currently available to eligible customers” in a list that includes the “United States, Canada, Mexico and Puerto Rico,” along with countries in Europe and Asia Pacific. Prices on this page are the US ones.
The decision
Start from the cameras. If you want to open the app and see what the car sees while it sits in an airport lot or on the street, that is the feature with no Wi-Fi or hotspot alternative in Tesla’s documents, and $99 a year plus tax is the price of it. If you only miss video, or music when the car is on Wi-Fi, your home network or your phone’s hotspot may cover it, subject to your carrier’s fees and your own streaming account. And if you are between the two, remember that a month costs $9.99 and can be cancelled: try a month away from home before you commit to twelve. The Tesla owner’s guide collects the rest of the ownership questions by topic.
Sources (4)
- tesla.com Tesla Support: Connectivity
- tesla.com Tesla Model 3 Owner's Manual (PDF, software 2026.32)
- tesla.com Tesla Support: Full Self-Driving (Supervised)
- notateslaapp.com Tesla Introduces Luxe Package for Model S and Model X (August 16, 2025)
🦋 Discussion on Bluesky
Discuss on Bluesky