A wireless meat thermometer is a probe that stays in the meat while it cooks and sends the temperature to your phone or a small base, so you don’t have to keep opening the oven or grill to check. Here are the picks, with prices read on each maker’s own US store on November 2, 2026:
- One probe with the highest heat rating: MEATER Pro, $99.99. Its ambient sensor is rated to 1,000°F and the probe is dishwasher safe, but it connects over Bluetooth, with no Wi-Fi of its own.
- One probe with a Wi-Fi base and a screen: Typhur Sync One, $89.99 (marked down from $99.99).
- Two probes, for a turkey and a ham at once: MEATER Pro Duo, $179.99, with Wi-Fi built in.
- The most sensors of these picks: Combustion Predictive Thermometer, $149, or $199 with its WiFi Booster.
- Smokers and long range: ThermoWorks RFX starter kit, $179 (marked down from $188).
- Budget: TempPro TempSpike TP960, $64.99 (marked down from $99.99), from the brand formerly called ThermoPro.
An instant-read thermometer is still useful for spot checks, as the section below explains. ThermoWorks’ Thermapen ONE was on closeout at $74 (from $115) as ThermoWorks retires it, and its ThermoPop 2 was $39. Several of these prices were sale prices on November 2, so check the maker’s page before you buy.
Wireless meat thermometers compared
Prices were read on each maker’s own US store on November 2, 2026, and range and temperature figures are the makers’ claims.
| Model | Price | Probes | Connects by | Range claim | Max heat around the probe | Dishwasher safe |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MEATER Pro | $99.99 | 1 | Bluetooth | 250 ft typical home, 2,500 ft open air | 1,000°F | Yes |
| MEATER Pro Duo | $179.99 | 2 | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | Wi-Fi coverage, no radio range given | 1,000°F | Yes |
| MEATER Plus | $79.99 | 1 | Bluetooth | 165 ft, depending on obstructions | 527°F | Yes |
| Typhur Sync One | $89.99 (sale; regular $99.99) | 1 | Wi-Fi base and Bluetooth | 400 ft open space, 135 ft enclosed | 752°F | Yes |
| Typhur Sync Gold Dual | $199.99 | 2 | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Sub-1G radio | 3,000 ft open space, 700 ft enclosed | 932°F | Yes |
| Combustion Predictive Thermometer | $149 ($199 with WiFi Booster) | 1 | Bluetooth; Wi-Fi with Booster or Display | 330 ft+ (10 to 100 ft obstructed); up to 660 ft total with the Booster | 900°F peak, 750°F continuous | Not stated |
| ThermoWorks RFX starter kit | $179 (sale; regular $188) | 1 | Sub-GHz radio to a Wi-Fi and Bluetooth gateway | 1,500 ft line of sight | 1,000°F | Not stated (Engadget: yes) |
| TempPro TempSpike TP960 | $64.99 (sale; regular $99.99) | 1 | Bluetooth | 500 ft, reduced by walls | 572°F | Yes |
The big range numbers are open-air figures. MEATER gives two for the same probe: 2,500 feet in open air and 250 feet as a typical home range. Typhur does the same, with 400 feet in open space and 135 feet in a closed one for the Sync One.
Which one to pick
MEATER Pro: one probe for most cooks
The MEATER Pro has five internal sensors and one ambient sensor, an accuracy claim of ±0.5°F, and an ambient limit of 1,000°F, which MEATER says means “open flames and searing.” MEATER says a 15-minute charge lasts 12 hours, and the charger runs on a single AAA battery.
The catch is Wi-Fi. MEATER says the Pro “does not have built-in WiFi”; to follow a cook from farther away you need MEATER Link or MEATER Cloud with a second phone or tablet near the grill. If that sounds like a chore, the Pro Duo and Pro XL have Wi-Fi built in.
The older MEATER Plus ($79.99) and MEATER SE ($64.99) cost less but are rated for 527°F around the probe and 165 feet of range. MEATER says leaving the probe in over an open flame is “not recommended with MEATER Plus or SE.” MEATER groups the Plus, SE and Block as its Alpha Collection and does not recommend any of those probes over an open flame.
The cheaper MEATERs on Amazon: MEATER Plus · MEATER SE
Check price on Amazon · See the MEATER Pro at MEATER
Typhur Sync One: Wi-Fi and a screen without a second phone
The Typhur Sync One’s base has a 2-inch screen and connects to Wi-Fi itself, so you can check the cook from anywhere with internet. Typhur says the base only supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. The probe has six sensors, is rated to 752°F around it, and Typhur says it runs more than 50 hours on a charge and goes in the dishwasher. Typhur’s own store lists an 18-month warranty and a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Check price on Amazon · See the Typhur Sync One at Typhur
Two probes for a holiday meal: MEATER Pro Duo or Typhur Sync Gold Dual
A second probe lets you watch a turkey and a ham, or the breast and the thigh, at the same time. The MEATER Pro Duo ($179.99) has two probes with the same 1,000°F rating as the Pro, plus built-in Wi-Fi and USB-C charging, where 30 minutes gives 24 hours. The Typhur Sync Gold Dual ($199.99) adds a Sub-1G radio that Typhur says reaches 3,000 feet in open space and 700 feet in a closed space, and each unit comes with a calibration certificate for its ±0.5°F claim.
For four probes, MEATER sells the Pro XL ($349.99), with a screen on the charger so you can cook without the app, and the older Block ($239.99), rated for 527°F.
Check the MEATER Pro Duo on Amazon · Typhur Sync Gold Dual on Amazon · See the MEATER Pro Duo at MEATER
Combustion Predictive Thermometer: the most sensors
Combustion’s second-generation probe has eight sensors, including one for the air around it, that read the meat from edge to edge, and its software estimates how much cooking time is left. Combustion says the probe is sealed to IP69K, has a peak limit of 900°F around it and a continuous rating of 750°F, needs to go in at least 1.97 inches (50 mm), and it doubles as an instant-read thermometer that reads in under 5 seconds.
On its own ($149) the probe talks to your phone over Bluetooth. The $199 kit adds the WiFi Booster, which connects to home Wi-Fi, extends the Bluetooth range to up to 660 feet in total, and recharges the probe up to 16 times from its own battery. A $119 WiFi Display, which needs the probe and is sold separately, shows the temperatures and a countdown without a phone. Combustion says the probe, Booster and Display all need a USB power source to charge, which is not included.
In Amazing Ribs’ accuracy test across food temperatures from 100°F to 210°F, the probe was “within 0.3°F.” That review describes a 575°F ambient limit, lower than the current model’s 900°F, so it appears to cover the first-generation probe.
See the Predictive Thermometer at Combustion
ThermoWorks RFX: for smokers and long cooks
ThermoWorks’ RFX uses a sub-GHz radio instead of Bluetooth, with a claimed range of 1,500 feet line of sight. Engadget’s January 2025 review says the signal is strong enough to get through the thick walls of an offset smoker, and reported a “consistent connection” through an all-day smoke and a Thanksgiving turkey. ThermoWorks says the probe reads to ±0.9°F, handles up to 1,000°F, and runs 65+ hours on a full 20-minute charge, or up to 52 hours on a 10-minute charge.
The starter kit includes the probe, the RFX GATEWAY receiver that sends readings to the ThermoWorks app over Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, and a Pro-Series Air Probe for the cooker’s temperature. The 1-probe kit was $179, marked down from $188, and 2-, 4- and 6-probe kits are also sold.
See the RFX starter kit at ThermoWorks
TempPro TempSpike TP960: the budget pick
TempPro is the new name for ThermoPro, which announced the change in a press release; it says the warranty and support stay the same and said in April 2026 that boxes may carry either name during the change. The TempSpike TP960 has a 500-foot Bluetooth range, a probe that lasts 48 hours or more on a charge, and is “safe for dishwasher cleaning.” TempPro says the probe must go in “at least to the depth ring near the handle.” Its probe handle is rated to 572°F, and TempPro points readers who sear or run very hot smokers to its TP970 or TP972, rated to 1,050°F.
Check price on Amazon · See the TempSpike TP960 at TempPro
Is a MEATER worth it?
It depends on how hot you cook. The MEATER Pro costs $35 more than TempPro’s TempSpike TP960 while the TP960 is on sale ($99.99 against $64.99 on the makers’ own stores on November 2, 2026; the TP960’s regular price is also $99.99). For that, the MEATER Pro is rated to 1,000°F around the probe against the TP960’s 572°F, and MEATER states an accuracy of ±0.5°F against TempPro’s ±1.8°F. TempPro’s own page sends cooks who sear or run very hot smokers to its pricier TP970 or TP972 instead.
If you mostly roast in the oven, the gap matters less. TempPro claims 500 feet of Bluetooth range and says walls and grill lids reduce it; MEATER claims 2,500 feet in open air and 250 feet in a typical home. Both probes go in the dishwasher. Those are each maker’s own numbers, measured their own way, so treat the range figures as rough guides rather than a head-to-head result.
The cheaper MEATER Plus ($79.99) is the one to skip for searing or open-flame grilling: it uses older Bluetooth 4.0, reaches 165 feet, and MEATER does not recommend leaving it over an open flame.
Wireless vs instant-read: do you need both?
Yes, if you cook whole birds. The USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) says that if you use an oven-safe thermometer, put it in the thickest part of a whole turkey’s inner thigh at the start, then adds: “Once the thigh has reached 165 °F, check the wing and the thickest part of the breast to ensure the turkey has reached a safe minimum internal temperature of 165 °F throughout the product.” A leave-in probe watches one spot; an instant-read thermometer is the quick way to check the others. MEATER’s app sends alerts for when to take meat off the heat, but FSIS’s minimums are measured “before removing food from the heat source,” so for poultry, confirm every spot has reached 165°F before you pull it.
The Thermapen ONE reads “in under one second,” with a ±0.5°F claim in key ranges and a calibration certificate. ThermoWorks is selling it at a closeout price and says to “stay tuned for what comes next.” The cheaper ThermoPop 2 takes 2 to 3 seconds with its 4.5-inch probe and claims ±1°F. Combustion’s probe can also do instant reads before you leave it in.
Check the Thermapen ONE on Amazon · See the Thermapen ONE at ThermoWorks
Safe temperatures, from the USDA
FSIS says to cook food to these minimum internal temperatures, “as measured with a food thermometer, before removing food from the heat source.”
| Food | Minimum internal temperature |
|---|---|
| All poultry, including whole birds, ground poultry and stuffing | 165°F |
| Beef, pork, veal and lamb steaks, chops and roasts | 145°F, then rest at least 3 minutes |
| Ground meats | 160°F |
| Fresh or smoked ham (uncooked) | 145°F, then rest at least 3 minutes |
| Fully cooked ham, reheated | 140°F if packaged in a USDA-inspected plant; 165°F for all others |
| Fish and shellfish | 145°F |
| Leftovers and casseroles | 165°F |
FSIS recommends checking the thigh, wing and breast with a food thermometer even if the turkey has a pop-up indicator. It also recommends cooking stuffing outside the bird, and says stuffing must reach 165°F. For quality, FSIS says to let the turkey stand for 20 minutes before carving.
Buying one as a gift
- Check how they cook. Someone who sears steaks over flame needs a high ambient rating, like the MEATER Pro’s 1,000°F, not the Plus’s 527°F. Someone with a smoker gets the most from long range, like the RFX.
- Check their Wi-Fi and phone. Every wireless pick here works with a phone app. Typhur’s base, Combustion’s Wi-Fi accessories and the RFX GATEWAY use 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. The MEATER Pro XL and Typhur’s base show readings on a screen, and so does Combustion’s WiFi Display; the MEATER Block has a standalone mode that runs a cook without a phone, but its micro-USB cable is not included.
- Watch the return window. MEATER’s own store allows returns “within 30 days of purchase” only if the product is “new, unused” with all its original packaging, and Typhur and TempPro offer 30-day money-back guarantees, so a gift bought in early November can be past that window by late December.
- Check what they cook. Leave-in probes need to go deep enough: TempPro says at least to the depth ring near the handle, and Combustion lists a minimum insertion depth of 1.97 inches (50 mm).
Frequently asked questions
Do you need Wi-Fi for a wireless meat thermometer?
No. A phone within Bluetooth range is enough for the MEATER, Typhur, Combustion and TempPro probes here, and ThermoWorks’ gateway also talks to the app over Bluetooth. Wi-Fi lets you check from anywhere: it is built into the MEATER Pro Duo, Pro XL and Block and the Typhur bases, and comes with Combustion’s Booster or Display and ThermoWorks’ RFX GATEWAY.
What temperature is a turkey done?
FSIS says a whole turkey is safe at 165°F, checked in the innermost part of the thigh and wing and the thickest part of the breast.
Can a wireless probe stay in over an open flame?
Only if it is rated for it. MEATER says the Pro, Pro Duo and Pro XL can handle 1,000°F, and that leaving a probe over open flame is “not recommended with MEATER Plus or SE.” Typhur says the Sync One’s probe can go over an open fire and is rated to 752°F. Combustion gives its probe a 900°F peak limit and a 750°F continuous rating, but its product page does not say whether the probe can stay over an open flame.
Are wireless meat thermometer probes dishwasher safe?
The MEATER, Typhur and TempPro probes here are, according to their makers. Engadget says the RFX probe’s IP69K rating makes it dishwasher safe. Combustion’s product page gives an IP69K rating but does not mention the dishwasher.
Which is cheapest?
Of the thermometers here, the MEATER SE (at its regular price) and the TempPro TempSpike TP960 (on sale from $99.99) were both $64.99 on their makers’ stores on November 2, 2026, and the ThermoPop 2 instant-read was $39.
Sources (20)
- meater.com MEATER Pro (US store, November 2, 2026)
- meater.com MEATER Pro Duo (US store, November 2, 2026)
- meater.com MEATER Pro XL (US store, November 2, 2026)
- meater.com MEATER Plus (US store, November 2, 2026)
- meater.com MEATER SE (US store, November 2, 2026)
- meater.com MEATER Block (US store, November 2, 2026)
- typhur.com Sync One Wireless Meat Thermometer (November 2, 2026)
- typhur.com Sync Gold Dual (November 2, 2026)
- combustion.inc Predictive Thermometer (November 2, 2026)
- combustion.inc Predictive Thermometer with WiFi Booster (November 2, 2026)
- combustion.inc WiFi Display (November 2, 2026)
- thermoworks.com RFX MEAT Wireless Probe Starter Kit (November 2, 2026)
- thermoworks.com Thermapen ONE (November 2, 2026)
- thermoworks.com ThermoPop 2 (November 2, 2026)
- temppro.com TempSpike TP960 (November 2, 2026)
- streetinsider.com TempPro press release: ThermoPro Becomes TempPro
- fsis.usda.gov USDA FSIS: Safe Minimum Internal Temperature Chart
- fsis.usda.gov USDA FSIS: Let's Talk Turkey Roasting
- amazingribs.com Combustion Predictive Thermometer Review
- engadget.com ThermoWorks RFX review
🦋 Discussion on Bluesky
Discuss on Bluesky