Buy the Yoto Player 4th Gen if the player will live in a child’s bedroom. It is $149.99 on Yoto’s US store, estimated to ship from November 2, 2026, and over the Mini it adds a full-panel night light, stereo sound and wireless charging. Buy the Yoto Mini 4th Gen ($109.99) if it will travel: it is smaller, water and dust resistant (IP67) and has the same new Green Button. A portable Mini also suits an older child who will listen on their own with headphones.
On a tight budget, the Yoto Mini 2024 Edition is $79.99. It plays the same Yoto Cards but has no Green Button. Yoto rates its battery at up to 14 hours and the 4th Gen models at up to 16, but those are not like-for-like: Yoto’s 14-hour test had audio playing for 6 of the 14 hours, and the 4th Gen pages don’t say how 16 hours was measured.
The players are the small part of the bill. Most best-selling Yoto Cards on Yoto’s store cost $12.99 to $14.99, a 10-pack of blank Make Your Own cards is $29.99, and Yoto Club starts at $4.99 a month. Prices on this page are Yoto’s and tonies’ own US store prices on November 1, 2026; other stores set their own.
Yoto’s current players compared
Yoto’s US players page lists three players.
| Yoto Mini 2024 Edition | Yoto Mini 4th Gen | Yoto Player 4th Gen | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (Nov 1, 2026) | $79.99 | $109.99 | $149.99 (pre-order, estimated to ship from Nov 2) |
| Battery (maker’s rating) | Up to 14 hours (audio playing 6 of the 14) | Up to 16 hours (basis not stated) | Up to 16 hours (basis not stated) |
| Storage | 32GB, about 500 hours | 64GB, 1,000+ hours | 64GB, 1,000+ hours |
| Speaker | 3W mono | Not stated | 5W stereo |
| Green Button playlists | No | Yes | Yes |
| Night light | No | No | Full-panel, seven colors |
| Okay-to-wake clock | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Water and dust resistance | Not stated | IP67 | Not stated |
| Charging cable in the box | USB-A to USB-C | USB-C | USB-C (also charges wirelessly) |
| Weight | Not stated | 185 g | About 763 g |
All three play Yoto Cards and work with Bluetooth or wired headphones. Yoto says its players suit children ages 3 and up, and younger children can listen “with caregivers handling the device.”
- Yoto Mini 4th Gen: Check price on Amazon
- Yoto Mini 2024 Edition: Check price on Amazon
Yoto Mini vs Yoto Player: which one?
Yoto’s own split is simple: the Player 4th Gen “is made for family life at home, while Yoto Mini 4th Gen is designed to take Yoto on the go.”
Pick the Player for a bedroom. Its full-panel night light has seven colors and adjustable brightness, and the display doubles as a clock that can act as an okay-to-wake cue. It charges over USB-C or wirelessly, and Yoto says the battery is replaceable, with a battery replacement kit planned for 2027.
Pick the Mini for car trips, flights or a child who carries it around. Yoto says the Mini 4th Gen is IP67 water and dust resistant and was “drop-tested 30,000 times,” and it weighs 185 g against about 763 g for the Player. Instead of the night light, it keeps the clock and the same day and night settings.
Both 4th Gen players add the Green Button: a twist-and-press control that plays up to 20 favorites without a card, with one playlist for daytime and one for night. Both also double the storage to 64GB, and both get Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 6.1.
One catch for an early gift: Yoto says “Interactive card compatibility coming soon” for the 4th Gen players, because they “run on an all-new platform, so a few features aren’t available just yet.” Ordinary story and music cards play: Yoto says “Almost all Yoto Cards work with Yoto Player 4th Gen and Yoto Mini 4th Gen.”
What about the older Yoto Player (3rd Gen)?
Yoto’s US players page no longer lists the 3rd Gen Player; its three players are the two 4th Gen models and the Mini 2024 Edition. The Yoto Player 3rd Gen was still on Amazon, sold by Yoto Inc, on November 1, 2026. It has half the 4th Gen’s storage, and its quick-access audio comes from a press of the right-hand button rather than a Green Button playlist. Buy it only if it costs clearly less than the 4th Gen.
What Yoto Cards and Yoto Club cost
| What you buy | Price at Yoto’s store (Nov 1, 2026) | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| A single card | Best sellers mostly $12.99 to $14.99; some Yoto titles $6.99 or $9.99 | One title, kept for good |
| A six-card pack | For example $29.99, $39.99 or $49.99 | A series or character set |
| Make Your Own Cards 10-pack | $29.99 ($3.00 a card) | Blank cards you fill with your own audio, reusable |
| Make Your Own Cards 5-pack | $17.99 ($3.60 a card), out of stock at Yoto on Nov 1 | The same, five cards |
| Yoto Club Explorer | $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year | Yoto says 300+ Yoto Original titles in the app, plus members-only sleep sounds and timers |
| Yoto Club Collector | $10.99 a month or $99.99 a year | Explorer plus 1 Club Credit a month, 10% off the Yoto store |
| Yoto Club Collector+ | $18.99 a month or $169.99 a year | Explorer plus 2 Club Credits a month, 10% off the Yoto store |
The per-card figures divide the pack price by the cards in it: $29.99 ÷ 10 = $3.00 and $17.99 ÷ 5 = $3.60. Most cards cost one Club Credit and some cost two or more, and credits expire 12 months after they are issued. On the annual plans a credit works out to $99.99 ÷ 12 = $8.33 on Collector and $169.99 ÷ 24 = $7.08 on Collector+, against $12.99 to $14.99 for most best-selling cards bought outright.
Some listening costs nothing. Yoto Daily and Yoto Radio are free, but they stream, so they need Wi-Fi. On the 4th Gen players they sit in the daytime Green Button playlist by default. Every player also comes with a Welcome Card that doubles as your first Make Your Own card, and the 4th Gen players add one free digital card in the app. A Make Your Own card holds up to 100 tracks, with a one-hour limit per track, and you can record your own audio for it in the Yoto App.
If you cancel Yoto Club, any Club titles you linked to Make Your Own cards are removed from those cards at the end of the subscription.
- Make Your Own Cards 10-pack: Check price on Amazon
- Make Your Own Cards 5-pack: Check price on Amazon
Is a Yoto worth it?
It depends on how much paid content you plan to buy. A low-cost start is a Yoto Mini 2024 Edition, which comes with one blank Welcome Card, plus a 10-pack of blank cards for your own recordings and podcasts: $79.99 + $29.99 = $109.98 at Yoto’s prices. Twelve store cards a year at $12.99 each add $155.88, and a Collector annual plan gives you 12 credits for $99.99.
Reviewed, whose guide was last updated June 13, 2024, had children ages 3 to 8 test kids’ audio players and named the Yoto Player its best overall pick for its “robust book library and dynamic usability.” Its product box now shows the Yoto Player (3rd Gen), but an editor’s note says “We previously tested the first generation of the Yoto Player, and are currently working on testing the current, third generation,” so the test says nothing about the 4th Gen models.
The Yoto Mini recall: what it means if you buy one now
The recall covers Yoto Minis sold in the US from November 2021 through April 2024, about 251,165 units; the speaker’s lithium-ion battery “can overheat and catch fire.” Yoto describes them as Minis manufactured between 2021 and 2023, and says the 2024 Edition uses “a new, improved battery from a different supplier.”
Yoto first offered owners a free Smart Cable in April 2024. Yoto, with the US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and Health Canada, then reannounced the recall with a free Battery Replacement Kit for every affected Mini, even if the owner already has the Smart Cable. The CPSC posted the reannouncement on December 12, 2024 (recall number 25-065).
Because sales ran into April 2024, don’t judge a Mini by the year you think it was bought. Check the serial number on its base: Yoto says 2024 Edition units have 14-digit SKU numbers that “end with a dash H or dash U, or are 9FE and higher.” Do that check before you accept a hand-me-down or buy a secondhand or marketplace Mini. If the number does not match, the CPSC says to “immediately stop using the recalled speakers, take them away from children and contact Yoto to receive a free battery replacement kit.”
- Yoto Mini 2024 Edition (not part of the recall): Check price on Amazon
- Yoto Mini 4th Gen: Check price on Amazon
Yoto or Toniebox?
For a child under 3, the age on the box decides it. Tonies says the Toniebox 2 is “designed and tested to be safe and easy to use for kids aged 1 and up,” while Yoto rates its players for ages 3 and up. The box’s age rating is not the whole story: Creative Tonies and many character sets, such as the Bluey starter set, are rated 3+, while tonies’ farm, jungle and travel starter sets are rated 1+.
| Yoto Mini 4th Gen | Toniebox 2 | Toniebox Lite | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (maker’s store, Nov 1, 2026) | $109.99 | $129.99 on its own; in-stock starter sets from $169.99 | $79.99 with one Tonie |
| How kids pick audio | Insert a card or twist the Green Button | Place a Tonie figure on top | Place a Tonie figure on top |
| Content price | Best-selling cards mostly $12.99 to $14.99 | Character Tonies typically $19.99 | Character Tonies typically $19.99 |
| Your own audio | Make Your Own cards, $3.00 each in a 10-pack | Creative Tonie, $9.99, up to 90 minutes of recordings | Not stated |
| Age rating | 3+ | 1+ (box) | 1+ (box) |
| Wired headphones | Yes (3.5mm jack) | No jack: Bluetooth, or tonies’ USB-C to AUX adapter | Not stated |
| Charging cable in the box | Yes | Yes (USB-C) | No |
The Toniebox 2 on its own ships with a USB-C cable and no Tonie, so budget for at least one figure. The Playtime Puppy starter set lists at $149.99 but was out of stock on November 1. Tonieplay games work only on the Toniebox 2, not on the Toniebox Lite, and the Lite comes without a charging cable. In the Toniebox 2 product page’s Q&A, tonies’ customer team says the box has no port for wired headphones, that it sells a USB-C to AUX adapter for 3.5mm headphones, and that the battery lasts “About 9 hours.”
Reviewed’s tactile-learner pick was the original Toniebox, which it rated for ages 3 to 8, for controls you squeeze and tap.
Buy a Yoto for a child of 3 or older who can handle cards and will want stories and music for years. For a toddler, buy a Toniebox and pick sets marked 1+.
- Toniebox 2 (farm starter bundle): Check price on Amazon
- Toniebox Lite (starter set with one Tonie): Check price on Amazon
Before you wrap it
- Buy a matching wall plug. None of the three lists one in the box. The 4th Gen players ship with a USB-C to USB-C cable and need a USB-C plug, and Yoto says to “Always use the Yoto-supplied USB-C to USB-C cable.” The Mini 2024 Edition ships with a USB-A to USB-C cable, so it needs a USB-A plug.
- Set it up first. You need the Yoto App and Wi-Fi to set up a player, and each card downloads its audio over Wi-Fi the first time it plays.
- Order the Player early. Yoto lists the Player 4th Gen as a pre-order with an estimated dispatch from November 2, 2026, and takes payment when you order.
Want a screen instead? See the kids tablets guide. For more gift ideas, see the tech gifts guide.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between the Yoto Mini and the Yoto Player?
The Yoto Player 4th Gen ($149.99) is the home model, with a full-panel night light, stereo sound and wireless charging. The Yoto Mini 4th Gen ($109.99) is the portable one: smaller, IP67 water and dust resistant, and 185 g. Both have the Green Button and 64GB of storage.
Do you need a subscription for a Yoto?
No. Yoto Club is optional and starts at $4.99 a month; without it the player still plays the cards you buy, your own Make Your Own cards, and the free Yoto Daily and Yoto Radio streams.
Do old Yoto Cards work on the 4th Gen players?
Yoto says almost all Yoto Cards work with the 4th Gen Player and Mini, but interactive cards are not supported yet.
Is the Yoto Mini safe after the recall?
The recall covers Yoto Minis sold from November 2021 through April 2024, and Yoto offers owners a free Battery Replacement Kit. Check the serial number on the base: Yoto says 2024 Edition units, which use a battery from a different supplier, have SKU numbers that “end with a dash H or dash U, or are 9FE and higher.” If yours doesn’t match, stop using it, keep it away from children and request the free kit.
What age is a Yoto for?
Yoto rates its players for ages 3 and up. For a child under 3, the Toniebox 2 and Toniebox Lite boxes are rated for ages 1 and up; pick Tonies marked 1+.
Sources (20)
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto US: Compare the players (November 1, 2026)
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto US: Yoto Player 4th Gen product page
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto US: Yoto Mini 4th Gen product page
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto US: Yoto Mini (2024 Edition) product page
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto Newsroom: Yoto launches Yoto Player 4th Gen and Yoto Mini 4th Gen (Sept 10, 2026)
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto US: Yoto Club
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto US: Make Your Own
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto US: Make Your Own Cards, Pack of 10
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto US: Make Your Own Pack of 5
- us.yotoplay.com Yoto US: Yoto Mini safety recall
- cpsc.gov Yoto reannounces recall of Yoto Mini speakers, new full battery replacement kit
- cpsc.gov Yoto recalls Yoto Mini speakers for children (2024)
- us.tonies.com tonies US: Toniebox 2 Sky Blue
- us.tonies.com tonies US: Playtime Puppy Toniebox 2 Starter Set (Moon Gray)
- us.tonies.com tonies US: Toniebox Lite Sleepy Set
- us.tonies.com tonies US: Tonieboxes (November 1, 2026)
- us.tonies.com tonies US: Creative Tonies
- us.tonies.com tonies US: Ms. Rachel Tonie
- reviewed.com The Best Kids' Audio Players
- amazon.com Yoto Player (3rd Gen) listing (November 1, 2026)
🦋 Discussion on Bluesky
Discuss on Bluesky