Link Copied!

Ring vs Blink: Which Camera Costs Less With the Plan?

Blink's cheapest plan is $39.99 a year for one camera against Ring's $49.99, but for two or more devices Ring Multi ($99.99) costs less than Blink Plus ($119.99). Ring's Battery Doorbell 2K was $39.99 on Amazon on November 2, 2026 (typical $99.99; Amazon deals change). eufy's E340 records to its own storage with no plan, and Aqara's G410 is the pick for Apple Home, with iCloud+ and a home hub.

A white and a black Blink 2K video doorbell standing side by side

Photo: Amazon (Blink)

Ring and Blink both sell cheap video doorbells and cameras that need a paid plan, billed monthly or yearly, to save video to the cloud; Blink also offers local storage for eligible cameras with no plan. Ring, Blink, eufy and Arlo plan prices below were read on the makers’ US sites on November 2, 2026, Google’s come from its October 2025 announcement, and Ring and Blink device prices are Amazon’s on November 2.

  • Cheapest plan for one device: Blink Basic, $3.99 a month or $39.99 a year, against $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year for Ring Solo.
  • Cheapest plan for two or more devices: Ring Multi, $99.99 a year, against $119.99 for Blink Plus.
  • Cheapest doorbell at regular price: Blink Wired Doorbell 2K+, $49.99, if your door already has doorbell wiring.
  • Best deal right now: Ring Battery Doorbell 2K, $39.99 (Nov 2 price; Amazon deals change), against a typical price of $99.99, and it needs no wiring.
  • No plan at all: eufy Video Doorbell E340, $169.99 on eufy’s store ($149.99 with a $20 coupon), with 8 GB of storage on the doorbell.
  • For Apple Home: Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410, which supports HomeKit Secure Video, with recordings in iCloud from $0.99 a month plus an Apple home hub.

What the plans cost

PlanMonthlyYearlyCoversVideo history
Blink Basic$3.99$39.99One deviceUp to 60 days
Blink Plus$11.99$119.99Unlimited devicesUp to 60 days
Blink Basic ai$6.99$69.99 ($49.99 the first year)One deviceUp to 60 days
Blink Plus ai$19.99$199.99 ($149.99 the first year)Unlimited devicesUp to 60 days
Ring Solo$4.99$49.99One doorbell or cameraUp to 180 days
Ring Multi$9.99$99.99All devices at one addressUp to 180 days
Ring Pro$19.99$199.99All devices at one addressUp to 180 days
eufy Cloud Backup Basic$3.99$39.99One device30 days
eufy Cloud Backup Plus$13.99$139.99Up to 10 devices30 days
Arlo Smart Aware, single camera$9.99$95.88One camera60 days
Arlo Smart Aware, unlimited$19.99$215.88Unlimited cameras60 days
Google Home Premium Standard$10$100Not stated30 days
Google Home Premium Advanced$20$200Not statedNot stated (includes Standard’s 30 days)

Google’s Advanced plan adds AI event descriptions and searchable video history to everything in Standard, and Google Home Premium replaced Nest Aware.

Advertisement

Ring and Blink prices are before tax, and both brands’ plans auto-renew until you cancel. Blink’s plans page doesn’t print the plan names beside the prices; its help page names basic and basic ai as the one-camera plans and plus and plus ai as the plans that cover all cameras, which matches the one-device and unlimited columns. Ring starts a free 30-day trial of Ring Protect when you set up a device, unless you have an existing plan at your location, and it warns that if you don’t subscribe before the trial ends, “you will lose your stored video recordings, and they will not be retrievable.” Each Ring plan covers one address, so a second home needs its own plan.

What else the plans add

Recording is the main reason to pay, but the plans carry extras that change the value. Ring Multi adds extended warranty coverage for eligible Ring devices. Ring Pro adds what Ring calls intelligent assistant features, such as Video Descriptions and Familiar Faces (in beta), plus 24/7 professional monitoring with emergency response when your system is triggered. Ring also sells add-ons: Pro Intelligence at $5 a month per camera on Solo or Multi (included with Pro), and 24/7 Continuous Recording at $3 a month per eligible camera.

Blink’s plus and plus ai plans include extended warranty coverage, and every Blink plan gives 10% off Blink devices bought on Amazon; the ai plans raise that to 20% for annual subscribers. Blink’s ai features, such as Video Descriptions and Unusual Activity Alerts, come only with the basic ai and plus ai plans, and Blink says they are not available in Illinois.

If you already own Nest or Arlo cameras, their plans cost more than Ring’s or Blink’s for one camera. Arlo’s Smart Aware plan is $9.99 a month for a single camera, and its unlimited version is $19.99, both with 60 days of video history. Google’s Standard plan is $10 a month with 30 days of video history. eufy’s cloud backup is $3.99 a month for one device, the same as Blink Basic, and it is a second copy, since the eufy doorbell already stores clips locally.

Advertisement

What you get with no plan

Ring’s blog lists what every Ring camera does with no subscription: Live View, real-time motion alerts, two-way talk and motion zones. What you lose is saved video, snapshot capture and person detection; Ring’s plans page also lists person, package and vehicle alerts as plan features. With Ring, a doorbell press you miss is a doorbell press you can’t replay.

Blink has a no-plan option for eligible cameras. Ring’s plans page lists local video storage only for its Alarm Pro, on a microSD card. A Blink Sync Module 2 saves clips to a USB drive you supply, and a Sync Module XR saves them to a microSD card; Blink says both “enable you to save clips without a subscription.” Blink’s FAQs for the Battery Doorbell 2K+ and Wired Doorbell 2K+ both list local storage as “Available when” the doorbell is connected to a Sync Module (using a USB drive) or a Sync Module XR (using a microSD card). The Sync Module Core that ships with the Battery Doorbell 2K+ and the Outdoor 4 doorbell bundle “does not support Local Storage or Clip Backup,” so with the Core alone, saving video takes a plan.

The details of Blink’s USB storage:

  • The drive: a Type-A USB drive between 1 GB and 256 GB, with at least 375 MB free.
  • Privacy: Blink says “Your clips are not encrypted as they are being saved.”
  • Viewing: the app’s clip list shows the most recent 1,000 clips from “the past 30 days of activity”; older clips mean moving the drive to a computer.
  • Mixing plans: “When a Blink Basic Plan is active on your account, all other devices attached to a Sync Module 2 use Local Storage.”

The Sync Module 2 was $49.99 on Amazon on November 2, 2026.

eufy builds storage into the device. The E340 doorbell keeps clips on 8 GB of built-in storage, which eufy says holds about 90 days of video at 30 twenty-second clips a day, and the SoloCam E50 records to a microSD card of up to 512 GB that you buy separately. eufy sells cloud backup too, but it is optional.

Advertisement

Three years of a doorbell, or a doorbell and a camera

These totals add the hardware to three years of a yearly plan that covers every device. Each Ring Solo or Blink Basic plan covers one device, so two devices could also be covered with two single-device plans; the two-device rows below price the multi-device plan. Ring and Blink hardware prices are Amazon’s on November 2, 2026; eufy’s are its own store’s.

SetupHardwarePlan for 3 years3-year total
Ring Battery Doorbell 2K$99.99 (typical price)Ring Solo, $149.97$249.96
Ring Battery Doorbell 2K$39.99 (Nov 2 deal)Ring Solo, $149.97$189.96
Blink Battery Doorbell 2K+$79.99Blink Basic, $119.97$199.96
Blink Wired Doorbell 2K+$49.99, plus a chime deviceBlink Basic, $119.97$169.96 plus the chime device
eufy Video Doorbell E340$169.99 ($149.99 with coupon)None needed$169.99 ($149.99)
Ring doorbell and Ring Outdoor Cam 2K, typical prices$199.98Ring Multi, $299.97$499.95
Ring doorbell and Outdoor Cam 2K, Nov 2 deals$89.98Ring Multi, $299.97$389.95
Blink Outdoor 4 and Wired Doorbell 2K+ bundle$129.98, plus a chime deviceBlink Plus, $359.97$489.95 plus the chime device
eufy Video Doorbell E340 and SoloCam E50$399.98 ($379.98 with the E340 coupon)None needed$399.98 plus a microSD card

On the Nov 2 prices, the Ring Outdoor Cam 2K was $49.99 against a typical $99.99. The Blink Wired Doorbell 2K+ won’t ring an in-home chime: Amazon’s listing says in-home alerts need an Alexa device or a Blink Chime, sold separately, and Blink’s FAQ adds a Blink Mini as a third option.

For a single doorbell, the three-year totals sit within $80 of each other. The gap opens with a second device: at typical Ring prices and Blink’s Nov 2 bundle price, both pass $480 over three years once the multi-device plan is added, while the eufy pair costs $399.98 plus a microSD card, with no plan. Ring’s Nov 2 deal prices bring its pair down to $389.95.

Advertisement

Buy Blink if you have one camera, or want a no-plan option. Basic is $10 a year less than Ring Solo, and Blink’s Sync Module 2 or XR gives eligible cameras local storage with no plan. For two or more devices on one plan, Ring Multi at $99.99 a year costs less than Blink Plus at $119.99.

Blink Wired Doorbell 2K+ on Amazon · Blink Battery Doorbell 2K+ on Amazon

If you go the no-plan route, Blink’s doorbell FAQs say clips are stored locally through a Sync Module with a USB drive or a Sync Module XR with a microSD card, and Blink’s sync module page names the Sync Module 2 as the USB-drive model. Blink Sync Module 2 on Amazon

Buy Ring if you have several cameras, want longer history, or want the deal. Ring keeps video for up to 180 days against Blink’s 60, Ring Multi covers every device at one address for $99.99 a year, and its Battery Doorbell 2K was $39.99 on November 2. Ring Pro adds 24/7 professional monitoring, with emergency response when your system is triggered.

Ring Battery Doorbell 2K on Amazon · Ring Outdoor Cam 2K on Amazon

Buy eufy if you never want a bill. It costs more up front, and the E340’s 8 GB works without a hub or a plan.

See the Video Doorbell E340 at eufy · eufy SoloCam E50 on Amazon

Which doorbells work with Apple Home (HomeKit Secure Video)?

HomeKit Secure Video records a compatible camera’s clips to iCloud, end-to-end encrypted, and Apple says “none of the video counts toward your iCloud storage.” It needs three things: a supported iCloud+ plan, a compatible HomeKit camera, and a home hub (an Apple TV, HomePod or iPad set up as one). The home hub analyzes the video, the Home app shows the last 10 days of activity, and the iCloud+ plan sets how many cameras you can add:

iCloud+ plan (US)PriceHomeKit Secure Video cameras
50 GB$0.99 a month1
200 GB$2.99 a monthUp to 5
2 TB or more$9.99 a month and upUnlimited

Check the maker’s own page for HomeKit Secure Video support before you buy. XDA Developers reported in July 2022 that Ring’s promised HomeKit support for its doorbells “remains an unfulfilled promise.” Blink’s FAQs for its 2K+ doorbells list Alexa, IFTTT and Siri Shortcuts as integrations, with no mention of HomeKit, and eufy says the E340 “doesn’t currently support HomeKit.”

Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410 is the battery doorbell to look at. Aqara lists “Full HomeKit Secure Video Support,” notes the resolution drops to 1200p when recording to HomeKit, and adds a microSD slot for up to 512 GB of local video. It also works as a Matter controller and Thread border router. Aqara’s wired G400 is also listed on Amazon with HomeKit Secure Video.

Aqara G410 on Amazon · Aqara G400 on Amazon

Before you buy

  • Check for doorbell wiring. The Blink Wired Doorbell 2K+ needs it; the Ring Battery Doorbell 2K and Blink Battery Doorbell 2K+ don’t.
  • Check what’s in the box. The Blink Outdoor 4 sold on its own is an “Add-on camera” whose listing says “Required Sync Module not included.”
  • Count your devices. Ring Solo and Blink Basic each cover one device, while Ring Multi and Blink Plus cover all of them; for two devices, compare one multi-device plan with two single-device plans.
  • Check the date on a deal. The Ring prices on this page are Amazon’s on November 2, 2026, against its typical price on the same listing.

For the rest of a starter smart home, from bulbs to a thermostat, the smart home devices guide has picks by budget.

Frequently asked questions

For one device, yes: Blink Basic is $39.99 a year and Ring Solo is $49.99. For two or more devices on one plan, Ring Multi at $99.99 a year costs less than Blink Plus at $119.99. For the hardware it depends on the deal: Ring’s Battery Doorbell 2K was $39.99 on Amazon on November 2, below Blink’s $79.99 battery doorbell.

Does a Ring doorbell work without a subscription?

Yes, for Live View, motion alerts and two-way talk, but it won’t save video. Ring says its products work with “certain features without a plan.”

Yes, for eligible cameras connected to a Sync Module 2 with a USB drive or a Sync Module XR with a microSD card. The Sync Module Core that comes in some kits does not support local storage.

Which video doorbell has no monthly fee?

The eufy Video Doorbell E340 records to 8 GB of built-in storage with no plan, and Aqara’s G410 records to a microSD card or, with an iCloud+ plan and a home hub, to HomeKit Secure Video.

Does Ring work with Apple HomeKit?

XDA Developers reported in July 2022 that Ring’s promised HomeKit support for its doorbells “remains an unfulfilled promise.” For Apple Home, the Aqara G410 is a battery doorbell that lists HomeKit Secure Video support.

Sources (19)

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Coloring books · All ages

Calm books for noisy days

Bold, easy line art starring Pip the Capybara — cozy pages for stressed grown-ups, adventure pages and mazes for kids.

See the books Free printable pages →

Scan with your phone camera

🦋 Discussion on Bluesky

Discuss on Bluesky

Searching for posts...